Coffee in Amsterdam: part 6

I’m considering putting together a web based compilation of really good coffee places in the UK, the Netherlands, Germany and Sweden. These are the countries I spend most time in when travelling. Hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to add more countries along the way. The reason? Well, when sitting here in my rented flat it’s a thought that strikes me over and over again since there really isn’t a very good guide out there. The rating system on many sites easily becomes biased since the owner of any place can just rate it as many times as he wants and then his place will be at the top. Fair? Not really. This is something I have figured must happen since some of the places I’ve been to have had amazing ratings and if not mediocre coffee, it certainly hasn’t been top notch in town. Still, other places haven’t even been listed but have had some smashing stuff brewed up for me. Confusing but true. This project would then give me an incentive to do a thorough Michelin-taster-like, almost scientific research of the coffee places I stumble across, or, are looking for on purpose. What do you think? Who knows, it might even end up in a printed format one day.

Coffee house no. 6 in my so far unscientific quest for perfect java is called Espressofabriek on Gosschalklaan 7. I wouldn’t call it a hidden gem since it’s really well frequented, however, it’s a bit off the beaten track and therefore you won’t just randomly pass it. You have to go there intentionally. And my recommendation is that you do.  It’s reached easiest from the Central Station by bus 21 to Van Hallstraat or tram 10 to Van Limburgstirumplein. I know, the Dutch stops have really complicated names but rest assured you’ll find it sure enough with the great signs showing the next stop on both buses and trams. You can’t miss it. The Espressofabriek is then situated in a contemporary, culturally oozing area called Westergasfabriek. As the name tells you (!) it is the old gasworks turned hip and funky. Big lawns and old brick buildings are now home to arty boutiques and the creative arts in general with film companies, theatre groups and what-have-you. Exactly the kind of vibrant area I like. In the middle of this is the very New York like coffee place I was looking for. This time I wasn’t let down. S. found her latte a wee bit bland but my cappuccino was perfect. And more importantly this was the place that produced the best milk foam so far. It held up much longer than normally. Eureka! One also got a glass of water with the coffee without asking. I don’t necessarily need that but I find it really nice. Maybe more nice looking than anything else, but still nice. A big plus for that guys.

With seating outside as well this will be lovely in a week or two, when the autumnal colours have started to explode and create an even more vibrant feel to the season lurking around the corner. With a narrow but esthetically pleasing interior in black and off-white with massive chalk boards with “literary quotes” (more likely from contemporary pop songs than Proust, if you get my point) on coffee and life in general I felt really welcome. It’s not cosy the way I usually look for, but it works. It’s arty and it’s Amsterdam. A place with great coffee and good vibe. I think I’ve found a new coffee house for my Top Three list.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amsterdam, Barista, Coffe Houses, Coffee, Food and Drink

Leave a Reply

